Meet the National Grid ESO Board

National Grid ESO’s board of directors have a crucial role in overseeing the ESO’s ambition of being able to operate a zero carbon electricity system by 2025, along with the delivery of its business strategy, objectives and plan.

As agreed with Ofgem, the Board will be chaired by the Director of the ESO and includes three Independent Non-Executive Directors along with three additional members appointed from within the ESO business.

National Grid ESO - board members - Fintan

Fintan Slye

Chair of the NGESO Board

Fintan Slye is Director of the ESO.  Prior to this he was CEO of the EirGrid Group, where he oversaw a major change programme that included integrating renewables onto the Irish electricity grid and a new approach to public consultation and engagement.

Fintan is a board member of Entso-e, the European Organisation for Transmission System Operators and a Fellow of the Institute of Engineers Ireland. He holds a Masters in Engineering Science and an MBA from University College Dublin.


National Grid ESO - board members - Hannah Nixon

Hannah Nixon

Independent Non Executive Director

Hannah has extensive experience in economic regulation, most recently as Chief Executive Officer of the Payment Systems Regulator (PSR).

She has been a member of several advisory boards, including the Government Economics Service, the ORR advisory panel and water regulator Ofwat’s Future Regulation advisory panel.

Hannah currently sits on the board of the Channel Islands Competition and Regulatory Authority (CICRA).

National Grid ESO - board members - Gillian Merron

Gillian Merron

Independent Non Executive Director

Gillian has been CEO of the Board of Deputies of British Jews since 2014, where she manages the national representative body and voice of the diverse Jewish community in Britain

A successful politician, Gillian was MP for Lincoln between 1997 and 2010 and a Government Minister from 2006 to 2010, with roles in the Health, International Development and Transport departments as well as in the Cabinet and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices.

National Grid ESO - Borad members - Paul Plummer

Paul Plummer

Independent Non Executive Director

Paul is Chief Executive of Rail Delivery Group (RDG) and Non-Executive Director at Network Homes. His previous roles include Group Strategy Director on the Board of Network Rail and President of European Infrastructure Managers.

Throughout his extensive career, Paul has advised companies, regulators and governments on business strategy, restructuring, privatisation, corporate finance and regulation in the transport and utilities sectors.

National Grid ESO - board members - Kayte O’Neill

Kayte O’Neill

Head of Strategy and Regulation

Kayte’s team set the strategic direction for the Electricity System Operator, creating business models, policy and regulatory frameworks that deliver customer value and enable strategic growth.

She joined National Grid PLC in 2002 and has held a wide variety of senior roles in the business, most recently as Executive Advisor to group CEO John Pettigrew, where she worked alongside the UK leadership team.

Kayte holds a first class degree in Business Economics and is a graduate of the Harvard Business School Program for Leadership Development.

National Grid ESO - board members - Claire Tuckman

Claire Tuckman

Finance Director

Claire joined National Grid in July 2017 and most recently was CFO at a privately-owned specialty pharma company.

Prior to this she held a number of senior roles in the pharmaceutical industry and spent five years working and living in Europe, including Milan, Budapest, Warsaw and Athens.

She holds a physics degree from Somerville College, Oxford and is a CIMA and CGMA qualified Management Accountant.