## nationalgridESO

## **Code Administrator Meeting Summary**

CMP393: Using import and export capacity to calculate annual load factor for storage CMP394: Removing generation charges from storage operators in positive TNUoS zones

## Workgroup 1

Date: 2 September 2022

### **Contact Details**

Chair: Ruth Roberts, National Grid ESO <u>Ruth.Roberts@nationalgrideso.com</u> Proposer: Rob Newton, Zenobe <u>robert.newton@zenobe.com</u>

## Key areas of discussion

#### Introductions

The Chair welcomed everyone to the Workgroup, outlined responsibilities and offered the option to have future meetings in person.

### **Proposers' solution**

RN talked through the pages 11-15 of the <u>CMP393-CMP395 Workgroup 1 Slides</u>, they confirmed that the aim was to provide a locational signal and that the two modifications were seen as mutually exclusive and that further analysis is needed to understand if both modifications are progressed in the future.

The Workgroup discussed their initial observations including how the modifications offered a different resolution from <u>CMP331</u>: Option to replace generic Annual Load Factors (ALFs) with site specific ALFs; the preference to refer to conventional carbon and low carbon as dispatchable and non-dispatchable constraints on storage and boundaries; and how the current TNUoS model does/ does not include constraints.

## **Review of Terms of Reference**

The Workgroup agreed the Terms of Reference for CMP394 with no further amends. However the Terms of Reference for CMP393 the Workgroup agreed that to provide clarity and remove the potential of crossover between the different objectives within Section 4 clauses d, e, f, and g should be reworked and shared with the Workgroup ahead being presented to the CUSC Panel for approval.

The Workgroup agreed it would be useful to have site of the documentation associated with the <u>TNUoS Task Force</u>, <u>CMP316</u>: <u>TNUoS Arrangements for Co-located Generation Sites</u>, <u>CMP331</u>:

## nationalgridESO

## Option to replace generic Annual Load Factors (ALFs) with site specific ALFs and the current <u>NETS</u> <u>SQSS review</u>.

## Additional Analysis and Timeline review

The Workgroup agreed that additional analysis would be required to best refine the solution and that the modification timeline should be reflective of the timescales and resources required post Workgroup Meeting 2.

The Workgroup discussed the need to consider the following within the analysis:

- the behaviour of storage at peak
- impact of potential future incentives (currently not in place)
- influence of the current high prices

#### **Next steps**

- The Workgroup to consider what additional analysis will be developed and circulated to support refining the solution.
- The Chair to modify the timeline to allow for Terms of Reference approval and analysis review

The following actions were noted:

#### **Actions Log**

Action Number	Workgroup raised	Owner	Action	Due by	Status
1	WG1	RR	Provide new wording for CMP393 Terms of Reference and share with Workgroup for review	ASAP	Open
2	WG1	All	Provide feedback if disagree with the updated CMP393 Terms of Reference	21 September 2022	Open
3	WG1	RR	Once confirmed submit the updated CMP393 Terms of Reference to the CUSC Panel for approval	September CUSC Panel	Open
4	WG1	RDL	Provide clarification on Storage behaviour at high wind conditions/ behind a constraint boundary	WG2	Open
5	WG1	RN	Confirm whether there is any further detail available from the Cornwall Insight analysis	ASAP	Open
6	WG1	All	Review available analysis and provide feedback on what else might be required	WG2	Open
7	WG1	RR	To send invite for Workgroup Meeting 2	ASAP	Open

### **Participants**

Attendees	Initials	Company	Position
Ruth Roberts	RR	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Chair
Milly Lewis	ML	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary
Rob Newton	RN	Zenobe	Proposer and workgroup Member
Rein De Loor	RDL	NGESO	Workgroup Member

# nationalgridESO

Jo Zhou	JZ	NGESO	SME & Observer
Mark Field	MF	Sembcorp	Workgroup Member
Damian Clough	DC	SSE Generation	Workgroup Member
Priyanka Mohapatra	PM	Scottish Power Renewables UK Ltd.	Workgroup Member
Joshua Logan	JL	Drax	Workgroup Member
Simon Lord	SL	Engie	Workgroup Member
John Prime	JP	ENERGYGRIDPOWER Ltd	Workgroup Member
Semih Oztreves	SO	Zenobe	Workgroup Member Alternate
Grace March	GM	Sembcorp	Workgroup Member Alternate
Graz Macdonald	GMac	Waters Wye	Workgroup Member Alternate
Simon Vicary	SV	EDF Energy	Workgroup Member Alternate
Kiran Munji	KM	Highview Power Limited	Workgroup Member Alternate

For further information, please contact Ruth Roberts.