### **Code Administrator Meeting Summary**

# GC0156: Implementation of the Electricity System Restoration Standard Workgroup 2

Date: 19 May 2022

#### **Contact Details**

Chair: Banke John-Okwesa, National Grid ESO <u>banke.john-okwesa@nationalgrideso.com</u>

Proposer: Sade Adenola, National Grid ESO <u>sade.adenola@nationalgrideso.com</u>

#### **Key areas of discussion**

The Workgroup discussions are summarised according to agenda item:

#### Workgroup Membership

- The Chair reaffirmed that whilst there are several representatives from different organisations, there is only one vote per organisation, which will be managed by Code Admin. As there are multiple differing topics and interests covered in the scope of GC0156, the steer from the Grid Code Panel has been that anyone involved with the ESR workgroups could be members of GC0156.
- Due to the cross code impact of distribution restart MK will be representing the Distribution Code Administrator within the Workgroup.

#### ESO Updates - Summary of GC0148 Workgroup Consultation

TJ provided an update on the 7 responses to the GC0148 Workgroup Consultation issued on 28 March - 27 April 2022, nothing that the legal text from coming out of the GC0148 will move into GC0156 and that the Workgroup Vote will include an Alternate proposal will take place on 27 May 2022.

#### ESO Updates - Summary of ESRS Working Group reports

The Restoration Standard Implementation Team (SA, MJ and DN) provided a high-level overview of the ESRS workgroup next steps and recommendations based on what the majority within each workgroup preferred, including the suggestion to create 4 sub-groups within GC0156 to continue

### national gridESO

working through; Future Networks; Assurance Activities; Communications Infrastructure; Markets and Funding Mechanism.

- An additional output, outside the scope, of the Technology and Locational Diversity Working Group is a framework for the technical specifics for the Restoration Service Provider tendering process. Whilst acknowledging the requirement to define terms such as 'anchor generator' within the tendering process for additional providers, as they formed part of the commercial contracting the ESO declined to share the technical requirements ahead of the tender process go live date.
- Some DNO members did not feel that their views were reflected within the final Communication Infrastructure workgroup report, these concerns will be discussed further within GC0156.
- The Workgroup questioned how the existing Local Joint Restoration Plans (LJRPs) and Distribution Restoration Zone Plans (DRZPs) would transition within the new restoration strategy along with the expectations of all parties including practical concerns and codified requirements, ensuring that there is no overlap.
- Confirmation that DNOs are exempt from penalties around customer minutes lost under a category 3 incident.
- The Steering Group, which has BEIS representation, will meet every 3 months to gain an update on GC0156 and provide expertise and resource where required.

#### Post Meeting Note: (see Action 13)

Recommendations within each report are on the page numbers indicated below:

- Future Networks Pages 6-7, 10-11. Further work required
- Markets and Funding Mechanism Page 6. To be progressed within CUSC and BSC
- Modelling & Restoration Tool N/A To GC0156
- Regulatory Framework slides 3-4 evolved to GC0156
- Technology & Locational Diversity Pages 4-5
- Assurance Activities Appendix A Assurance Activities document. Further work required
- Communications Infrastructure Pages 4-12, 19. Further work required

#### Review and agree Terms of Reference

- The Workgroup discussed proposed Terms of Reference, objectives a, b, c, and d were agreed within the meeting.
- Due to the Workgroup requesting further clarity from BEIS on the definition of demand, objective e was not agreed.

#### AOB: ESRs and BP2 consultation updates

Amy Brooks from the Strategy and Regulation team provided the Workgroup a high-level overview of the BP2 and asked for involvement in the consultations:

- Full detail on the BP2 plan, and how to respond to the consultation and the opening webinar recordings can be found here: <a href="https://www.nationalgrideso.com/our-strategy/riio">https://www.nationalgrideso.com/our-strategy/riio</a>
- Questions, feedback and/or meetings can be arranged by contacting box.ESO.RIIO2@nationalgrideso.com

## national**gridESO**

#### **Previous Actions**

The Workgroup agreed to close action 1-4 and 6 on the basis that the contents would be discussed at the next meeting. Current actions are outlined below:

#### **Actions**

For the full action log, click here.

Number	Action	Owner	Status
5	To produce a clear requirement of what is required from this workgroup in terms of objectives	NGESO	Open
7	For all workgroup members to review the Terms of Reference and bring any further suggestions to the next workgroup meeting	Workgroup	Open
8	Workgroups meetings to be rescheduled to 13:00-16:30 on the days presented on the timeline	Code Admin	Complete
9	SA to provide clarity from BEIS on their definition of 'electricity demand'	SA	Open
10	SA to share the finalised Workgroup ToR with ESRS Steering Group and feedback comments post Workgroup 3	SA	Open
11	Request for pictorial representation of the wider restoration strategy including how DRZP and LJRPs work together and the practical expectations	NGESO	Open
12	Look at definition of anchor generator as it will be used in tendering document	AJ	Open
13	Highlight recommendations from the ESRS Workgroup reports	NGESO	Open

#### **Next Steps**

- Confirm Terms of Reference
- Discuss the recommendations of the ESRS workgroups and set up subgroups.

#### **Attendees**

Name	Initial	Company	Role
Banke John-Okwesa	BJO	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Chair
Ruth Roberts	RR	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary
Milly Lewis	ML	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary
Sade Adenola	SA	National Grid ESO	Proposer
Tony Johnson	TJ	National Grid ESO	ESO Representative
Alan Creighton	AC	Northern Powergrid	Workgroup Member
Abdi Osman	AO	National Grid Interconnectors	Workgroup Member

# national**gridESO**

Alastair Frew	AF	Drax Power Station	Workgroup Member
Andrew McLeod	AMc	Northern Powergrid	Workgroup Member
Andrew Larkins	AL	Sygensys	Observer
Andrew Vaudin	AV	EDF	Workgroup Member
Colin Foote	CF	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Dozie Nnabuife	DN	National Grid ESO	Workgroup Member
Eric Leavy	EL	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Eva Shamu	ES	National Grid ESO	Observer
Garth Graham	GG	SSE	Workgroup Member
Graeme Vincent	GV	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Graz Macdonald	GMc	Waters Wye	Workgroup Member
Gwyn Jones	GJ	Western Power Distribution	Workgroup Member
Howard Downey	HD	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Mark Bingham	MB	National Grid Electricity Transmission	Observer
Mark Holland	MH	Scottish & Southern Electricity Networks	Observer
Mark Jones	MJ	National Grid ESO	Observer
Mike Kay	MK	Independent	Observer
Neha Gupta	NG	National Grid ESO	Observer
Neil Sandison	NS	Scottish & Southern Electricity Networks	Observer
Nikhil Singh	NSi	National Grid Electricity Transmission	Workgroup Member
Paul Murray	PMu	Scottish & Southern Electricity Networks	Observer
Priyanka Mohapatra	PM	Scottish Power	Workgroup Member
Tolu Esan	TE	Electricity North West Ltd	Workgroup Member
Christopher Statham	CS	Ofgem	Authority Rep
Ross Strachen	RS	Scottish Power	Alternate