

Code Administrator Meeting Summary

GC0156: Implementation of the Electricity System Restoration Standard

Date: 26 April 2022

Contact Details

Chair: Banke John-Okwesa, National Grid ESO Proposer: Sade Adenola, National Grid ESO

banke.john-okwesa@nationalgrideso.com sade.adenola@nationalgrideso.com

Key areas of discussion

The Workgroup discussions are summarised according to agenda items:

Code Modification Process Overview and Timeline

- There was concern around the quoracy impact of availability for the next meeting proposed for the 19th May 2022; later in the meeting this was confirmed to be an afternoon session.
- Due to the volume of companies with multiple Workgroup Members BJO confirmed that there is one vote per company

Proposer presentation

- TJ delivered a presentation on the implementation of Electricity System Restoration Standard (ESRS) modification. Full details are available in the presentation pack within the Workgroup papers.
- Workgroup members require further clarification on definitions, assumptions and terms are based on specific circumstances to ensure that each party understands what is being discussed, e.g. what is meant by 'Black Start' and 'demand' etc.
- Whilst, due to update to it's licence in October 2021, NGESO is obliged to have made the code changes by September 2023 and implementation of 31st December 2026, all parties need to be compliant within these timescales.
 - Workgroup members raised concerns that the timescales were too tight and that a backup solution will need to be considered if unable to hit the timelines.
- A large proportion of the discussion revolved around the whether or not changes to Grid Code would
 influence the ability for the ESO to continue with their Black Start tendering process. It was deemed
 that as these agreements are commercial that this would not be the case as it isn't codified.



- o TJ confirmed that it is not the intention of the modification to make requirements mandatory for restoration, but this may be something which is looked into as the workgroups progress
- Pending the results of GC0148 consultation (27th April 2022) it is likely that the Distributed Re-Start
 restart elements will be brought into GC0156. There were several discussions around whether there
 was cross code impact and whether other working groups/ steering group representatives need to be
 included in future working groups.
 - SA outlined the work which had already been undertaken within the ESRS workstreams, the output of the 7 different working groups will be summarised and shared with the workgroup for further clarity.
 - AC confirm that the Distribution Code Panel will support with legal text based on the outputs of GC0148 consultation and finalised GC0156 terms of reference

Workgroup Discussions

• TJ explained that achieving the standard of 60% of Demand to be restored within 24 hours (across all regions) and 100% of Demand within 5 days will come from understanding from industry what tools are available, what tools could be made available and whether this is practical.

Review of questions submitted pre-Workgroup

- The Workgroup asked that as the glossary of definitions were built the preference should always be to opt for existing definitions
- During discussions around the document it become apparent that a lot of the questions could be summarised into a FAQ table with a progress column due to the interdependencies from workstreams and GC0148

Review of Terms of Reference

- Reiteration of the need for cross code impacts to be considered, with all relevant material being shared with the Workgroup
- Further discussion was had around the requirement for clarity on BEIS' expectations in terms of resilience and what service levels will be acceptable in different circumstances (i.e., major weather events vs cyber-attack)

Next Steps

- The next Workgroup is scheduled for Thursday 19th May with the agreement that this would be left
 as is to keep to the timeline, with an ask on workgroup members to accept or decline the meeting
 accordingly so the chair is aware of proposed attendance.
- A requirement and ask of the Workgroup is to ensure all material shared with the Workgroup prior to the next meeting is read and reviewed ready for input at the next meeting to ensure objectives are kept to.

national**gridESO**

Actions Log

Number	Action	Owner	Status
1	All Workgroup meetings presented in the timeline to be input into the diary	Code Admin	Open
2	Due to multiple individuals attending from each organisation, those organisations to nominate a Workgroup voting representative	Workgroup	Open
3	SA to share the final reports from the ESRS working groups and provide summaries to the Workgroup at the next meeting	SA	Open
4	A production of a glossary of a definition of terms referred to within this modification, including black start, restoration services and demand etc to be shared with the workgroup by next scheduled meeting	SA and NGESO	Open
5	To produce a clear requirement of what is required from this workgroup in terms of objectives	NGESO	Open
6	To collate AFs pre workgroup questions into a table to distribute around to the Workgroup as a working document NGESO to share with the workgroup the correct BEIS direction document NGESO to share GC148 outcomes and the requirement for a distribution code rep within this workgroup	NGESO	Open
7	For all workgroup members to review the Terms of Reference and bring any further suggestions to the next workgroup meeting	Workgroup	Open

Participants

Attendees	Initial	Company	Position
Banke John-Okwesa	ВЈО	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Chair
Ruth Roberts	RR	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary
Milly Lewis	ML	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Observer
Sade Adenola	SA	National Grid ESO	Proposer
Tony Johnson	TJ	National Grid ESO	ESO Representative
Alan Creighton	AC	Northern Powergrid	Workgroup Member
Abdi Osman	AO	National Grid Interconnectors	Workgroup Member
Alastair Frew	AF	Drax Power Station	Workgroup Member
Andrew McLeod	AMc	Northern Powergrid	Workgroup Member
Andrew Larkins	AL	Sygensys	Observer
Andrew Vaudin	AV	EDF	Workgroup Member
Audrey Ramsay	AR	National Grid ESO	Observer



Cefin Parry	CP	Northern Powergrid	Workgroup Member
Colin Foote	CF	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Dozie Nnabuife	DN	National Grid ESO	Workgroup Member
Eric Leavy	EL	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Garth Graham	GG	SSE	Workgroup Member
Graeme Vincent	GV	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Grace March	GM	Sembcorp	Workgroup Member
Graz Macdonald	GMc	Waters Wye	Workgroup Member
Gwyn Jones	GJ	Western Power Distribution	Workgroup Member
Howard Downey	HD	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Mark Bingham	MB	National Grid Electricity Transmission	Observer
Mark Holland	МН	Scottish & Southern Electricity Networks	Workgroup Member
Mark Jones	MJ	National Grid ESO	Observer
Mike Kay	MK	Independent	Observer
Michelle MacDonald	MM	Scottish & Southern Electricity Networks	Workgroup Member
Neha Gupta	NG	National Grid ESO	Observer
Neil Sandison	NS	Scottish & Southern Electricity Networks	Workgroup Member
Nikhil Singh	NSi	National Grid Electricity Transmission	Workgroup Member
Peter Couch	PC	Joint Radio Company Ltd.	Workgroup Member
Priyanka Mohapatra	PM	Scottish Power	Workgroup Member
Chanditha Udalagama	CU	National Grid Ventures	Workgroup Member
Robert Longden	RL	Eneco Energy Trade BV	Workgroup Member
Tolu Esan	TE	Electricity North West Ltd	Workgroup Member
Christopher Statham	CS	Ofgem	Authority Rep
Paul Youngman	PY	Drax Power Station	Alternate
Bradley Kent	BD	National Grid Electricity Transmission	Alternate
Ross Strachen	RS	Scottish Power	Alternate
Gavin Anderson	GA	Electricity North West Ltd	Alternate

For further information, please contact the Code Administrator.