Code Administrator Meeting Summary

GC0154: Incorporation of interconnector ramping requirements into the Grid Code as per SOGL Article 19 Workgroup 2

Date: 17 February 2022

Contact Details

Chair: Sally Musaka	Contact details: sally.musaka@nationalgrideso.co	
Proposer: Louise Trodden	Contact details: louise.trodden@nationalgrideso.com	

Key areas of discussion

- GC0154 seeks to provide clarity to stakeholders by incorporating Interconnector ramping requirements into the Grid Code in line with the requirements of SOGL A119.
- The aim of the meeting was for Workgroup to agree the Terms of Reference, remind parties
 of their responsibilities and to enable Workgroup Members to further discuss and share their
 views on the issue and potential solutions presented to the Workgroup by the proposer.
- ESO representative shared an update to the Workgroup of the outputs from a meeting with the EU TSOs on the 31st January. This meeting was to ensure clear communication between the two groups and highlight to the EU TSOs the initial views from the first workgroup. It was requested that at the next meeting the ESO asks for views from the EU TSOs about their preferred solution at this stage.
- The Proposer explained that the drivers for change were influenced by; Compliance (to include interconnector ramping into the codes) and Operational (as more interconnectors are joining the system, there is need to review the current arrangements as these were based on historic values which have not been reviewed though any CBA)

national**gridESO**

- On the Operational and Economic analysis, workgroup members were interested to see how IC and BMU ramping and associated actions to maintain system security compare.
- The Workgroup noted and discussed the pros and cons for all 8 potential solutions and shared concerns around the need for a full Cost Benefits Analysis (CBA) on these solutions. The proposer advised that this was needed and that a list of parameters should be discussed in the workgroup to move this forward when the time is right.
- The Proposer shared previous feedback from Interconnectors to further refine the solutions.
- The Chair presented the Workgroup with the Terms of Reference for further comments/ approval. Workgroup agreed to approve this at the March Meeting.

The following actions were noted

Actions	Loa
Autoris	LUG

Action Number	Workgroup raised	Owner	Action	Due by	Status
1	WG1&2	All	Workgroup members to agree	17/03/2022	Open
2	WG2	Antonio Del Castillo Zas	To share market-based solutions used for managing ramping	17/03/2022	Open
3	WG2	Antonio Del Castillo Zas	To produce data on distribution of swings at the next workgroup	17/03/2022	Open
4	WG2	ESO	To provide more details on the capacity of ramping and what the issue is about	17/03/2022	Open

Next Steps

• Next workgroup meeting will be on **17 March 2022.** The aim of the meeting will be to review the proposed solutions in more detail. Also, for the workgroup to agree Terms of Reference.

national**gridESO**

Attendees

Name	Initials	Company	Role
Sally Musaka (Chair)	SM	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Chair
Rashpal Gata-Aura	RGA	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary
Louise Trodden	LT	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Proposer
Alison Price	AP	National Grid ESO	Proposer (Alternate)
Monne Depraetere	MT	Nemo Link	Workgroup Member
Andre Canelhas	AC	GridLink Interconnector	Workgroup Member
Tom Ireland	TI	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	ESO Representative
Kick Vanhouten	KV	BritNed	Workgroup Member
Vera Stam	VS	BritNed	Workgroup Member (Alternative)
Leo Michelmore	LM	Eleclinks	Workgroup Member
Kevin Lee	KL	Alpha Energy Consulting	Workgroup Member
Scott Field	SF	NeuConnect	Workgroup Member
Shalini Suthasan	SS	Nationalgrid Ventures	Workgroup Member
Lijia Qiu	LQ	Nationalgrid Ventures	Workgroup Member
Benjamin Marshall	BM	National HVDC centre and SHE Transmission	Workgroup Member
Neil Dewar	ND	Eleclinks	Workgroup Member (Alternative)
Mathieu Ramet	MR	GE Renewable Energy	Workgroup Member
Ewa Krzywkowska	EK	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Presenter
Oliver Garfield	OG	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Observer
Antonio Del Castillo Zas	ADCZ	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Presenter
Simon Williams	SW	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Observer