Code Administrator Meeting Summary

GC0154: Incorporation of interconnector ramping requirements into the Grid Code as per SOGL Article 19 Workgroup 1

Date: 25 January 2022

Contact Details

Chair: Sally Musaka	Contact details: sally.musaka@nationalgrideso.co	
Proposer: Louise Trodden	Contact details: louise.trodden@nationalgrideso.com	

Key areas of discussion

- GC0154 seeks to provide clarity to stakeholders by incorporating Interconnector ramping requirements into the Grid Code.
- The aim of the meeting was to go through the Modification Process, remind parties of their responsibilities and to enable Workgroup Members to discuss and share their views on the issue and potential solutions presented to the Workgroup by the proposer.
- The Chair explained the Modification Process and Workgroup's roles and responsibilities. Chair also presented the draft timeline and terms of reference. Workgroup's views were mixed, and members felt they needed more time to review the Terms of Reference and will provide their views ahead of the next meeting on 17 February 2022.
- The proposer then presented the defect and 8 potential solutions for the Workgroup to consider. These solutions consisted of;
 - 1) applying the current BMU ramping rates to Interconnectors,
 - 2) include current bespoke ramping arrangements as they are,

national**gridESO**

- 3) use dynamic ramping rates but this will mean the NGESO will decide if any ramping rate limits be amended,
- 4) apply a reduced static interconnector ramp rates,
- 5) ensure NGESO holds sufficient response and reserve to facilitate unrestricted interconnector ramping,
- 6) develop additional services with the interconnector and EU TSOs to mitigate ramping,
- 7) Change cross border capacity markets and
- 8) Changes to the GB wholesale market design to be more compatible with cross border capacity markets.
- On the Operational Analysis, Workgroup members requested more clarity around what the actual problem, causes of the problem and to what extent the issue is manageable.
- The Workgroup members agreed to provide feedback and responses to the questionnaire ahead of the next meeting on 17 February 2022.

The following actions were noted

Actions Log

Action Number	Workgroup raised	Owner	Action	Due by	Status
1	WG1	SM	Circulate ToR to workgroup members	25/01/2022	Close
2	WG1	All	Workgroup members to review/comment/agree	04/02/2022	Open
3	WG1	All	Workgroup members to provide responses to the questionnaire	28/01/2022	Close

Next Steps

• Next workgroup meeting will be on **17 February 2022.** The meeting will be to review feedback from the possible solutions presented in Workgroup Group with further discussion around the operational issues we are seeking to resolve. Also, to discuss and agree Terms of Reference.

national**gridESO**

Attendees

Name	Initials	Company	Role
Sally Musaka (Chair)	SM	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Chair
Rashpal Gata-Aura	RGA	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary
Nisar Ahmed	NA	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Observer
Louise Trodden	LT	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Proposer
Monne Depraetere	MT	Nemo Link	Workgroup Member
Andre Canelhas	AC	GridLink Interconnector	Workgroup Member
Tom Ireland	TI	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	ESO Representative
Thomas Derry	TD	BritNed	Observer
Jan Hoogstraaten	JH	BritNed	Workgroup Member
Vera Stam	VS	BritNed	Workgroup Member (Alternative)
Leo Michelmore	LM	Eleclinks	Workgroup Member
Kevin Lee	KL	Alpha Energy Consulting	Workgroup Member
Isaac Gutierrez	IG	Scottish Power Renewables	Workgroup Member
Vince Hammond	VH	Nationalgrid Ventures	Workgroup Member (Alternative)
Lijia Qiu	LQ	Nationalgrid Ventures	Workgroup Member
Benjamin Marshall	BM	National HVDC centre and SHE Transmission	Workgroup Member
Andrew Larkins	AL	Sygensys	Workgroup Member
Norman MacLeod	NMacL	WSP	Workgroup Member
Mathieu Ramet	MR	GE Renewable Energy	Workgroup Member
Kick VanHouten	KV	BritNed	Observer
Ewa Krzywkowska	EK	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Observer
Oliver Garfield	OG	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Observer
Williams Simon	WS	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Observer
Antonio Del Castillo Zas	ADCZ	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Observer
Simon Williams	SW	National Grid ESO Control Centre	Observer