# National Grid Company plc Grid Code Review Panel 6<sup>th</sup> February 2003

## Governance of Electrical Standards – Update Paper

## Introduction

1. This paper is in accordance with my Action 1358 at the last GCRP meeting to provide an update to the February GCRP Panel Meeting on any developments in relation to the Governance of Electrical Standards.

## **Background**

- 2. At the last GCRP meeting the GCRP agreed to the formation of a joint England and Wales Grid Code Review Panel (GCRP), Scottish Grid Code Review Panel (SGCRP) and Distribution Code Review Panel (DCRP) Joint Working Group (JWG) to take forward Ofgem's proposals on the Governance of Electrical Standards. It was agreed that the three Panels would subsequently separately consider how to take forward/ implement the work of the JWG.
- 3. It was also agreed that a separate GCRP specific group would be formed at a later date to consider further the recommendations of the JWG.
- 4. However, at the time of the GCRP meeting the SGCRP had not yet met, and the formation of a joint working group was still dependent on SGCRP approval.

## <u>Update</u>

- 5. Since the last GCRP meeting considerable progress has been made.
- 6. The SGCRP have agreed that the establishment of a JWG on the Governance of Electrical Standards represents a sensible approach.
- GCRP nominations for the Joint Working Group were received for Andy Balkwill, Ben Graff and John Morris. A number of other GCRP members were also nominated for the JWG either in their capacity as DCRP or SGCRP members.
- 8. Full Membership of the JWG is listed below. Gareth Evans (Ofgem) attends the Group as an observer.

Name	Company	Representing
Andy Limbrick	AEP	Generator – DCRP
Dave Mitchell	Boots Contract Manufacturing	Major User – DCRP
John Sinclair	Electricity Association	DCRP Advisor

John Norbury	Innogy	Generator – E&W GCRP and DCRP
Ben Graff	National Grid	TSO – E&W GCRP
Chandra Trika	Scottish & Southern Energy	DNO/TSO - S-GCRP and DCRP
John Morris	British Energy	Generator – E&W GCRP
Andy Balkhill	National Grid	TSO – E&W GCRP
Jeff Hunt	Scottish Power	DNO/TSO – SGCRP
Mike Kay	United Utilities	DNO – DCRP (Chairman)

- 9. Nominations from Andy Balkwill, Ben Graff and John France were also received for the Grid Code Specific Working Group but it is proposed to seek further nominations for this group when the JWG has reported back to the GCRP.
- 10. The joint working group met for the first time on the 20<sup>th</sup> December.

## Appointment of a Consultant

- 11. It was agreed at this first meeting of the JWG that it was sensible for a consultant to be appointed to develop the procedures needed by the GES Group. The Working Group accepted that the Licence holders (NG and the DNOs) would provide the funding to employ a consultant to develop the GES procedures. The Electricity Association (via John Sinclair) were instructed to act as an agent for inviting tenders. It was also agreed that Mike Kay, Chandra Trika, Ben Graff and Andy Balkwill would identify the successful candidate following the tendering process, and that Ofgem did not need to sit in on this decision.
- 12. The JWG consultant will be appointed on the 5<sup>th</sup> of February.

#### Initial Discussion on Scope of Electrical Standards

13. There was general acceptance that the scope of Governance of Electrical Standards should be limited to those standards that materially affect users. However, this is clearly an area that the JWG will be considering the detail of further, in conjunction with the consultant.

#### Next Steps

14. The next meeting of the JWG will be on the 18<sup>th</sup> of February at Bellshill (prior to DCRP.)

National Grid Company plc 23<sup>rd</sup> January 2003