Code Administrator Meeting Summary

Meeting name: CMP288/289 Workgroup meeting 10

Date: 20 January 2022

Contact Details

Chair: Jennifer GroomeContact details: Jennifer.Groome@nationalgrideso.comProposer: Kenneth DoyleContact details: Kenneth.Doyle@nationalgrideso.com

Key areas of discussion

- The main objectives of the meeting were to consider the updated Proposal, suggest amendments to the Workgroup Terms of Reference (subject to Panel approval) and agree the timeline going forwards.
- The updated Proposal adds a small section of text to CUSC Section 14 to clarify that delay charges are treated as pass-through costs; set as per each TO's charging statement (i.e. NGESO will not alter or change these values calculated by TOs).
- Some Workgroup members were not comfortable that the updated Proposal sees that the charges are set out in the TO's Charging Statements rather than in the CUSC. In the Original (2018) Proposal, the charges were set out in the CUSC where the methodology would be under open governance. It was explained that with the updated Proposal the Charging Dispute process is in place for those who disagree with their charges.
- Further, concerns were raised that the three TO's currently treat delay charges differently, and therefore the charges could be discriminatory. One Workgroup member shared their own experience with some projects that have been delayed a number of times, where delay charges have been unpredictable and lacking justification. An action was taken for the Proposer to consider what assurance could be provided to Users to provide more confidence in the charging statements.
- Some Workgroup members were concerned that the Proposal is considerably different to the Original Proposal and it was questioned whether the updated solution still addresses the original defect. The Workgroup reviewed and amended their Terms of Reference based on the assumption that the solution does address the defect, however they expressed that they would like a steer from the Panel on this before proceeding. The Proposer agreed that although their solution is a small change to CUSC, the Workgroup would need to make some

recommendations on where assurance could be provided in other areas (i.e. through an STC modification, or liaising with TOs to improve confidence in charging statements etc).

- The Chair asked the Workgroup to consider whether they believe the Alternative Request submitted during the Workgroup Consultation (which builds off the Original (2018) Proposal however only applies to connection agreements entered into after the modification implementation date) is still valid. The Workgroup agreed that as the Original Proposal has changed, the Alternative Request is no longer applicable.
- The Workgroup agreed that if the Panel give the go-ahead to continue work, they should hold another Workgroup Consultation and add in two more meetings to the timeline, to allow for sufficient consideration of the updated Proposal.

Actions

For the full action log, click here.

Action Number	Workgroup raised	Owner	Action	Comment	Due by	Status
1	WG1	KD	Consider feedback about methodology in TO Charging Statements not having same transparency/control as CUSC	N/A	WG2	Open
2	WG1	JG	Get a steer from Panel on whether they agree the updated Proposal addresses the original defect and submit updated ToR for review	N/A	WG2	Open
3	WG1	KD/GN	Consider the differences in the charging statements and consider evidence required to justify economic and efficient spend	N/A	WG2	Open
4	WG1	JG	Provide and updated modification timeline (post January Panel)	N/A	WG2	Open
5	WG1	JG/KD	Circulate updated proposal forms	N/A	AG2	Open

Next Steps

• Chair to provide updated modification timeline and next steps following CUSC Panel on 26 January 2022.

Attendees

Name	Company	Role
Jennifer Groome	National Grid ESO	Chair
Ruth Roberts	National Grid ESO	Tech Sec
Kenneth Doyle	National Grid ESO	Proposer
Grahame Neale	National Grid ESO	Workgroup member
James Jackson	Orsted	Workgroup member
Nicola Barberis Negra	Orsted	Workgroup member
Josh Logan	Drax	Workgroup member

nationalgridESO

Matthew Paige-Stimson	NGET	Workgroup member
Robert Longden	Eneco Energy Trade BV	Workgroup member
Joe Dunn	Scottish Power Renewables	Workgroup member
Andy Vaudin	EDF Energy	Workgroup member
Andy Colley	SSE	Workgroup member
Harvey Takhar	National Grid ESO	Observer
Ryan Ward	Scottish Power Renewables	Observer