

Code Administrator Meeting Summary

CMP304: Improving the Enhanced Reactive Power Service by making it fit for purpose

Date: 08 November 2021

Contact Details

Chair: Ian Ascroft, National Grid ESO lan.Ascroft@nationalgrideso.com (Stand in for Ren Walker)

Proposer: Garth Graham, SSE garth.graham@sse.com

Key areas of discussion

The Workgroup discussions are summarised according to the agenda items:

Reintroduction of modification by proposer and update

- The Code Administrator Chair welcomed workgroup members, apologies given for allocated workgroup chair Ren Walker due to illness and introduction to new Tech Sec Ruth Roberts and new ESO rep Keren Kelly.
- Proposer ran through slides for a re-introduction of modification.
- It was discussed that the ESO work on reactive power has developed since previous workgroups and did this
 Workgroup match its timescales. Workgroup agreed that this modification remained relevant regardless of stage of
 ESO work on reactive power.

Review of Terms of Reference (ToR)

- The Chair reminded the Workgroup of the agreed ToR and requested the workgroup confirm the ToR were still appropriate.
- A workgroup member highlighted in relation to ToR 4a) the authority have confirmed that CMP305 decision will
 now be made in conjunction with that of CMP304.

Timeline Review

- The Proposer advised that they will be unavailable for the next scheduled workgroup meeting. All the workgroup agreed that the proposer would be required for the next workgroup and to reschedule this.
- The Workgroup discussed if this Workgroup should be pushed back further due to ESO Future of Reactive Power project final report issued in January. The Workgroup had concern for delaying the progress of this modification by 3 months awaiting the report publication.
- The Chair agreed for the timeline to be reviewed with a new date to be put forward to all workgroup members ASAP.



The following actions were noted:

Actions Log

Number	Action	Owner	Status
1	Garth Graham to send to all workgroup members the last version of the workgroup report for all to review	Garth Graham	Closed
2	Keren Kelly to confirm if the ESO report due in January can be shared externally with industry and if so when	Keren Kelly	Open
3	Cem Suleyman to share link to Reactive Power workshop on 11/11/2021	Cem Suleyman	Closed
4	Ian Ascroft to discuss review of timeline for working group with Paul Mullen (CUSC Panel) and Ren Walker (Chair) with Doodle poll of dates options to be issued to the workgroup members	Ian Ascroft	Open

Participants

Attendees	Company	Position
lan Ascroft	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Chair (stand in)
Ruth Roberts	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary
Garth Graham	SSE	Proposer & Workgroup Member
Keren Kelly	National Grid ESO	Workgroup Member
Joseph Dunn	Scottish Power	Workgroup Member
Robert Longden	Cornwall Energy	Workgroup Member
Sean Gauton	Uniper Energy	Workgroup Member
Cem Selyman	Drax	Workgroup Member
Tim Ellingham	RWE	Workgroup Member

For further information, please contact the Code Administrator.