

# **Code Administrator Meeting Summary**

# GC0147: Last resort disconnection of Embedded Generation – enduring solution

Date: 15 December 2020

#### **Contact Details**

Chair: Nisar Ahmed, National Grid ESO
Proposer: Rob Wilson, National Grid ESO

Nisar.Ahmed@nationalgrideso.com
Nisar.Ahmed@nationalgrideso.com
/ 0777 3043068

## Key areas of discussion

 Nisar Ahmed (Chair) opened the meeting, noting that an Ofgem representative was present as per the request of Workgroup members

#### Developing market based solutions

- The Workgroup discussed developing market based solutions with some Workgroup members noting that if there
  was an ODFM update this would have helped progress the discussions
- Ofgem also noted that it would be important to see market based solutions before making any decisions
- The Proposer noted that users can now join via API and the ESO as previously noted, would encourage more BM participation that reduces the need to use this
- It was also noted that participants would need to know what would happen in the event of being requested to deenergise in an emergency last resort situation

#### Consequential CUSC/DCUSA modifications

- The Workgroup raised the ongoing issue of raising consequential modifications that would deal with potential compensation arrangements, noting that some members believed that the ESO should raise CUSC & DCUSA mods
- Ofgem noted that while this was a possibility, ultimately this Grid Code modification should continue with its main focus on technical requirements and operational processes as the key driver for GC0147 was system security.
- Ofgem noted that the ESO would need to demonstrate what other commercial options it has considered
- Ofgem also noted that the issue of if other mods were required would need to be raised at the relevant CUSC and DCUSA Panels
- One Workgroup member noted that it was felt that market participants would like to see all mods shared at the same time for clarity and did not see a reason not to present them all to Ofgem in time for approval before May 2021



 Ofgem responded noting that it can make a decision about GC0147 independently to other modifications and could then decide on the other CUSC & DCUSA mods should they be raised but that their status should not delay GC0147

#### Compensation

- It was asked if it was possible for clarification around whether Article 13 of the Clean Energy Package applies of not and if the decision sits with Ofgem
- Ofgem noted that it will make the decision on if compensation applies according to Article 13

#### Compensation after two events

It was noted that the solutions would be updated to rolling 12 months as currently as it stands it could mean that if
there were two events a month apart but in separate years it might not trigger compensation

#### Conclusion

- The Workgroup noted that there were 4 alternatives by the end of the meeting and that they were happy to vote by
  majority that all of them could proceed to be formal WAGCMs. The Workgroup are taking forward WAGCM1,
  WAGCM2, WAGCM3 and WAGCM4, all which are deemed to be better than the original into a final workgroup
  vote at the next Workgroup meeting in January 2021.
- Code Administrator to circulate the report ahead of Christmas for additional final comments to be raised by Workgroup as well as voting template for the next meeting
- Next meeting in January 2021 will be to sign off the Workgroup report and vote, ahead of submitting the report to January GCRP Panel

### **Actions Log**

Number	Action	Owner	Status
1	Code Administrator to send updated report and voting template to Workgroup members ahead of Christmas	Code Administrator	Open
2	To update the Workgroup on the timeline and next steps for development on the ODFM replacement	Rob Wilson	Open
4	Code Administrator to send Matthew Cullen alternative form	Code Administrator	Open
3	Set up next Workgroup for final review of the report (ony changes ahead of meeting to be accepted) and vote in January ahead of Panel	Code Administrator	Open

#### **Participants**

Attendees	Company	Position
Nisar Ahmed	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Chair
Kirsten Shilling	Code Administrator National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary



Rob Wilson	National Grid ESO	Proposer & Workgroup Member
Andrew McLeod	Northern Powergrid	Workgroup Member
Garth Graham	SSE Generation Ltd	Workgroup Member
Graham Bone	Infinis Energy Services	Workgroup Member
Grant McBeath	SP Energy Networks	Workgroup Member
Graz Macdonald	Viridis Power	Workgroup Member
Jeremy Caplin	Elexon	Workgroup Member
John Smart	Southern Electric Power Distribution	Workgroup Member
Lisa Waters	Waters Wye Associates	Workgroup Member
Mark Meyrick	The Renewable Energy Company Ltd	Workgroup Member
Matthew Cullen	EON UK Plc	Workgroup Member
Paul Graham	Sembcorp	Workgroup Member
Paul Youngman	Drax	Workgroup Member
Phil Smith	National Grid ESO	Workgroup Member
Robert Longden	Cornwall Insight	Workgroup Member
Gurpal Singh	Ofgem	Observer
Peter Dennis	EcoTricity	Observer
Bill D'Albertanson	UK Power Networks	Observer
Rachel Beaufoy	National Grid ESO Code Administrator	Observer

For further information, please contact the Code Administrator.