national**gridESO**

Code Administrator Meeting 4 Summary

GC0134 Removing the telephony requirements for small, distributed and aggregated market participants who are active in the Balancing Mechanism.

Date: 06 April 2020

Contact Details

Chair: Nisar Ahmed, National Grid ESO

Nisar.Ahmed@nationalgrideso.com 0777 3043068

Proposer: Peter Dennis, Ecotricity

Peter.Dennis@ecotricity.co.uk

Key areas of discussion

The workgroup reviewed the revised draft Workgroup Consultation document

- Amended the executive summary to clarify the barrier to participation in the balancing mechanism that is discussed in this proposal.
- Revised the section covering the backup measures that could be imposed for contingency operation.

The workgroup discussed the viability of several potential options for contingency operation in emergency / safety situations

- Discussed using techniques similar to Telecommand for participants that fall below the 10MW or 50MW threshold to control the plant under emergency conditions outside of office hours, among other possibilities. The viability, the pros and cons of this and other approaches were discussed.
- Consideration was given to the potential level of risk that might result in the event that participants below the proposed thresholds could not be accessed by the ESO.
- Consideration was also given to how many parties would currently qualify at the proposed thresholds.

The workgroup edited the workgroup consultation questions to ensure that the correct areas were covered. New questions were added to:

- Explore other possible technologies or solutions that might be available as alternatives to fixed telephony.
- Explore alternative options for contingency despatch.

nationalgridESO

• Address the cost/risk/benefit of the proposal.

No Alternatives raised

• The workgroup was asked whether any member wanted to raise a Workgroup Consultation Alternative request – none was raised.

Action Log

Number	Action	Status
	All actions from the previous meeting were closed. No new actions were added.	

Participants

AttendeesCompanyPositionNisar AhmedCode Administrator National Grid ESOChairKirsten ShillingCode Administrator National Grid ESOApologiesPeter DennisEcotricityProposer and Workgroup MemberPhil SmithNational Grid ESOWorkgroup Member & Acting Technical Secretary for Kirsten Shilling for this meetingMark BinghamNational GridWorkgroup MemberJohn WalshNational GridWorkgroup MemberRobert LongdenCornwall EnergyWorkgroup MemberAlastair FrewDraxWorkgroup Member			
National Grid ESOKirsten ShillingCode Administrator National Grid ESOApologiesPeter DennisEcotricityProposer and Workgroup MemberPhil SmithNational Grid ESOWorkgroup Member & Acting Technical Secretary for Kirsten Shilling for this meetingMark BinghamNational GridWorkgroup MemberJohn WalshNational GridWorkgroup MemberRobert LongdenCornwall EnergyWorkgroup Member	Attendees	Company	Position
National Grid ESOPeter DennisEcotricityProposer and Workgroup MemberPhil SmithNational Grid ESOWorkgroup Member & Acting Technical Secretary for Kirsten Shilling for this meetingMark BinghamNational GridWorkgroup MemberJohn WalshNational GridWorkgroup MemberRobert LongdenCornwall EnergyWorkgroup Member	Nisar Ahmed		Chair
Phil SmithNational Grid ESOWorkgroup Member Workgroup Member & Acting Technical Secretary for Kirsten Shilling for this meetingMark BinghamNational GridWorkgroup MemberJohn WalshNational GridWorkgroup MemberRobert LongdenCornwall EnergyWorkgroup Member	Kirsten Shilling		Apologies
Technical Secretary for Kirsten Shilling for this meetingMark BinghamNational GridWorkgroup MemberJohn WalshNational GridWorkgroup MemberRobert LongdenCornwall EnergyWorkgroup Member	Peter Dennis	Ecotricity	
John Walsh National Grid Workgroup Member Robert Longden Cornwall Energy Workgroup Member	Phil Smith	National Grid ESO	Technical Secretary for Kirsten Shilling for this
Robert Longden Cornwall Energy Workgroup Member	Mark Bingham	National Grid	Workgroup Member
	John Walsh	National Grid	Workgroup Member
Alastair Frew Drax Workgroup Member	Robert Longden	Cornwall Energy	Workgroup Member
	Alastair Frew	Drax	Workgroup Member

For further information, please contact the Code Administrator.