Power Responsive Workgroup 1 (PRWG1)

Terms of Reference and Membership

A Review of Operational Metering Standards in ESO Markets

Responsibilities

At our Markets Forum: Enabling Britain's Clean Energy Future on 22nd March, our Executive Director communicated our commitment to reviewing the way that operational metering standards are applied for aggregated portfolios in the Balancing Mechanism (BM). As the dominant GB balancing market and following feedback from providers, the BM is our initial focus area.

This Power Responsive Working Group is responsible for conducting a review into operational metering standards in the Balancing Mechanism and ensuring that they are applied proportionately for small-scale assets within aggregated portfolios.

Scope of work

- 1. The Workgroup shall consider and report on the following specific issues regarding operational metering standards:
 - a) The tolerances for meter measurement accuracy
 - b) The frequency at which a meter read is provided
 - c) The latency with which a meter read must be transmitted to ESO
- 2. The Workgroup shall pay particular attention to how operational metering standards are applied to aggregated units to reduce barriers to entry for smaller market participants looking to meet the 1MW minimum participation threshold through aggregation.
- 3. The Workgroup shall focus on the Balancing Mechanism in the short-term, however we also propose to consider any impacts on Reserve markets, given the similarities with the BM. We are also currently reforming our Reserve products, hence it is a timely opportunity to replicate any improvements for operational metering, where applicable. In the future, we propose that key lessons are applied to other markets where appropriate for example, other ESO markets such as Response plus emerging flexibility markets in the DSO space.
- 4. Where required, the Workgroup will inform any consultation process which may be required to implement changes to operational metering.

Membership

 Membership of this Workgroup will be open to all industry participants and will **not** be by invitation only. However, we would strongly welcome representation from a broad range of industry stakeholders with different interests in mind.

A list of Workgroup members will be kept updated below.



Role	Name	Representing
Chair	Kyle Martin	National Grid ESO
Technical Secretary	Calum McCarroll	Power Responsive
Workgroup Member	Edward Farley	National Grid ESO
Workgroup Member	Andy Wainwright	National Grid ESO
Workgroup Member	Will Gratton	National Grid ESO
Workgroup Member	John Prime	AMP Energy
Workgroup Member	April Chen	WSP
Workgroup Member	John Byrne	Enel X
Workgroup Member	Eamonn Bell	SMS
Workgroup Member	Neil O'Loughlin	Flexitricity
Workgroup Member	Stef Peeters	Centrica
Workgroup Member	Daniel Krause	Tesla
Workgroup Member	Sarah Honan	ADE
Workgroup Member	Iain Nicoll	Elexon
Workgroup Member	Daniel Williams	Kraken Flex
Workgroup Member	John Roberts	Scottish Power
Workgroup Member	Avi Aithal	ENA
Workgroup Member	Jeremy Yapp	Beema
Working Group Member	Sebastian Blake	Kraken Flex
Working Group Member	Andrew Lam	Tesla
Working Group Member	Emma Burns	Flexitricity
Working Group Member	Mark Hamilton	SMS
Working Group Member	Eddie Proffitt	MEUC

- 6. The Workgroup shall keep an Attendance Record for the Workgroup meetings and circulate the Attendance Record with the Action Notes after each meeting.
- 7. A final Workgroup report will be issued to summarise meeting discussions and the outcome which is agreed by Workgroup members.
- 8. Engagement for this Workgroup will commence in Summer 2022 and there is not a finite number of meetings planned. It is proposed that we evaluate the function and effectiveness of this Workgroup after two meetings to establish a time horizon going forward. There is potential for Power Responsive Workgroups to expand their remit into other significant topics affecting distributed flexibility.

